the raw reality of excistence

Over the news, net and social media, we get the most horrible shit thrown at us. Violations of human right, morals, ethics, freedoms are all over. Gaza, Syria, Ukraine, USA, Iraq, Afganistan, to name a few. And thats only the shit we hear about.
Apparently, this is the safest era in the known history of the world. Imagine that…

How do our lives look?
I like to believe our lives are a smaller version of what goes on on this planet. We have our struggles,fights, sometimes very nasty shit going in. Be it physically or in our minds. But we also experience beauty, friendship, loyalty, love and much more good stuff. Its all there on a daily base.
When you look at our world, what do you see?
Back to our own lives. When you ask someone:”how are you”?, most people say “good”. Statistically this is not true. Far from most people are “good”. Many of struggle most of their lives; social/ financial pressure, jobs we hate, unhappy marriage, health issues, deaths of loved ones, etc.
Personally,I’ve been in some deep shit. When people would ask how I was, I’d put on the “happy mask” and say:”all good, thanks”. I didnt want my fellow humans to know I too, struggled. I felt better than that, or believed I didnt need help.
As if we have somekind of shame to admit we too have to deal with difficulties. Especially now in this age of social media, I/ we create this image of succes, awesomeness, fun, adventure. Very rarely do we share what is really going on in our daily excistence. The insecurities we deal with, fears, strange or obscene joys we may have. We all know they are there. We do share foto’s of wonderful nights out, with smiles and tequila shots, but I havent seen the selfie of a hungover-dehydrated face; yet.
I, personally, am more interested in the raw beauty of daily life than the heart shape in the foam on your capuccino. I want to know whats going on, how you deal with shit, so that I can learn and maybe even help.
I admire the courage shown by people after the war is over, the soldiers left, the memories still there, but they manage to move on, rebuild, learn to love again. Life always finds a way. Love always finds a way. Be open. Give and receive. Live

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the raw reality of excistence

  1. πŸ˜‰ How I deal with “shit”, well I flush it down the toilet. πŸ˜‰

    But on a serious note, ofcourse I have to deal with the bad things in life.
    Still when you ask me “how are you” I will answer good, because that is how I am, “I’m good”, not in the sense that I’m a good man, far from it.

    I feel great no matter what it is that is thrown at me by life.
    I have more to thank God for, I have a God that is greater then whatever life can throw at me.
    That God; my love for Him and worship of Him, is what for me defines whether I feel good or not.

    “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God. For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to corruption and obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.
    Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”
    (Romans 8:18-28 ESV)

Leave a comment